Monday, October 4, 2010

From Night World to Everworld...

Continuing on in my journey of fictional discovery, I would come across the Search for Senna (Everworld #1).  I was quickly swept into this story of mythical creatures and a whole new God system.  Interestingly enough, each book takes the characters to a different place in Everworld and is narrarated by a different main character.  Quite an impressive series that really takes you into the fantasy writing of the author and enthrals you.  Here's a little bit about the book from Publishers Weekly...

From Publishers Weekly

With a seemingly boundless capacity for imagination and humor, the author of the Animorphs series takes older readers on a journey to a bizarre world, where elements of the past coexist with the fantastical, in this first volume of the Everworld series. After his mysterious girlfriend, Senna, is dragged underwater by a gigantic wolflike creature that rises from a lake, David and three other high school students are swept into the peculiar and frightening universe of Everworld. Applegate conjures a thrilling land inhabited by trolls, a gigantic snake "the size of a derailed Amtrak," evil winged creatures called Hetwan, unicorns and a colony of crude Vikings. Taken as prisoners to the court of Loki, the Norse god of destruction, the quartet again encounters the supernatural wolfAbut it seems that Senna has disappeared. When they fall asleep and find themselves back in the "real world," the four realize that Everworld is a parallel universe, and they are existing simultaneously in both places. As the book closes, narrator David and his friends have joined the ranks of the Vikings in battle against the army of the Aztec god Huitzilopoctli. Loki's treacherous castle is as gruesome as Huitzilopoctli's island is dazzling. With her blend of accessible story and mythological cast of characters, Applegate is sure to attract a host of new fans. Due out the same month is the series' second installment, Land of Loss (-87751-8). Ages 12-up. (July)
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.
An AMAZING series, and if you liked the first, I guarantee, you will not be able to stop yourself from wondering what comes next.  Twelve books later, you will leave satisfied and imagining more...
PS- The covers are PRETTY awesome.
Land of Loss (Everworld #2)Enter the Enchanted (Everworld #3)Realm of the Reaper (Everworld #04)Discover The Destroyer (Everworld #5)Fear the Fantastic (Everworld #6)Gateway to the Gods (Everworld #7)

No comments:

Post a Comment